Renaissance School of Medicine Recognizes Dr. Tannous for Exceptional Patient Care

Doctor Tara HustonDoctor Henry J .Tannous, Stony Brook Department of Surgery's chief of Cardiothoracic Surgery, has been awarded the Excellence in Clinical Service Award from the Renaissance School of Medicine's (RSOM) 2023 Faculty Awards. The RSOM's annual awards are given to faculty nominated for exceptional work in research, teaching, clinical service, mentoring and humanism.

Dr. Tannous, Cardiothoracic Surgery chief and Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery, was selected for demonstrating "[an] impeccable professional reputation and noteworthy achievements, exemplify[ing] a devotion to delivering quality care and teaching." Dr. Tannous commented on this accomplishment, "I am truly honored to be selected to receive this award. This recognition is a testimony to the unwavering commitment myself and my colleagues have toward providing the highest level of care for all our patients."

Joining Stony Brook University Hospital from Mount Sinai in 2016, Dr. Tannous was appointed chief of our Cardiothoracic Surgery Division in 2019 based on his expertise, accomplishments and top-of-line reputation for clinical excellence in both adult cardiac and thoracic surgery. Dr. Tannous is dual board certified by the American Board of Surgery and the American Board of Thoracic Surgery.

Other 2023 RSOM Faculty Award Winners include:

Aesculapius Award for Teaching - The highest teaching award offered to Stony Brook medical school faculty:

  • Getu Teressa, Dept. of Medicine (Hospital Medicine)

Senior Research Excellence - The award recognizes basic, clinical and translation science researchers above the rank of Assistant Professor:

  • Joshua Dubnau, Dept. of Anesthesiology
  • Markus Seeliger, Dept. of Pharmacological Sciences 

Early Career Research Excellence - This award acknowledges basic, clinical and translational science researchers below the rank of Associate Professors:

  • Hwan Kim, Dept. of Microbiology and Immunology

Excellence in Student Mentoring - Faculty members receive this award for their exceptional support of medical students:

  • Cordia Beverley, Dept. of Family, Population & Preventive Medicine

Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring - This award distinguishes RSOM faculty members for their outstanding support in guiding graduate students in their academic and research work:

  • Jessica Seeliger, Dept. of Pharmacological Sciences

Excellence in Resident/Fellow Mentoring - School of Medicine faculty recipients of this award are recognized for their remarkable efforts to support residents and/or fellows in their work:

  • Jason Kim, Dept. of Urology

Excellence in Faculty Mentorship - Recipients of this award are School of Medicine faculty members who hold an outstanding record of mentoring junior faculty:

  • Sandeep Mallipattu, Dept. of Medicine (Nephrology and Hypertension)

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award Presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation - The award honors those physicians who recognize the value of humanism in the delivery of care to patients and their families:

  • Grace Natalie La Torre, Dept. of Medicine (Palliative Care)

The Department of Surgery congratulates Dr. Tannous and all of this year's RSOM Faculty Award winners.

Add new comment