Stony Brook Medicine’s Out & Proud List

At Stony Brook Medicine, Respect is one of our core values. We foster an environment of mutual respect and trust, embracing diversity in people and thinking. We believe we do our best and most impactful work when we are a diverse, inclusive and equitable organization. We are proud to recruit and hire talented people from a wide variety of backgrounds and experiences. We are also proud to serve as a Health Care Equality Leader for the LGBTQ* Community.

Our Out & Proud List features Stony Brook Medicine students, trainees, staff, providers, faculty and administration who identify as being part of our LGBTQ* Community. This list serves to embrace and celebrate diversity; increase visibility; and, foster community and collaborations for LGBTQ* individuals at Stony Brook Medicine.

If you would like to be added to the Out & Proud List, please complete the Out & Proud Form. If you have any questions, please contact our LGBTQ* Co-Chair: rose.cardin@stonybrookmedicine.edu


Employees

Vahni-Vishala Bernard (Bisexual)
Medical Student
Renaissance School of Medicine
Vahni-Vishala.Bernard@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Marie Fleury (Queer)
Chief Resident
General Surgery
Stony Brook Medicine
Marie.Fleury@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Adam Gonzalez (Gay)
Director of Behavioral Health
Psychiatry & Behavioral Health
Stony Brook Medicine
Adam.Gonzalez@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Russell Himmelstein (Trans)
Resident
Pediatrics
Stony Brook Medicine
Russell.Himmelstein@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Amy Karriker (Gay)
Director Chaplaincy Services
Stony Brook University Hospital
Amy.Karriker@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Laura McNamara (Queer)
SB CPMP & ACO Compliance Officer
Stony Brook Medicine
Laura.McNamara@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Lorraine Peterson (Queer)
Chaplain
Spiritual Care
Stony Brook Medicine
Lorraine.Peterson@gmail.com
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Jack Scheutzow (Gay)
Medical Student
Renaissance School of Medicine
Jack.Scheutzow@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Stephanie Spano (Cisgender Lesbian)
Resident Physician
Diagnostic/Interventional Radiology
Stony Brook Medicine
Stephanie.Spano@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Ted Uotani (Gay)
Special Needs Dental Fellow
Dentistry
Stony Brook Medicine
Ted.Uotani@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: He/His/Him

Kelly Van Ness (Lesbian)
Assistant Director of Nursing
Endoscopy and GI Motility Services
Kelly.Hinlicky@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Emily Wang (Gay)
Medical Student
Renaissance School of Medicine
Emily.Wang1@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Carley Weinstein (Gay)
Social Media Manager/Producer
Stony Brook Medicine
Carley.Weinstein@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Nanci Zichittella
Assistant Director of Nursing
Nursing Office
Stony Brook Medicine
Nanci.Zichittella@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers