SBUMC Orthopaedics Faculty Establish Endowment for Department, Add Proceeds from National Award


normal medium large

    $10,000 for Departmental Research and Education

    STONY BROOK, N.Y., August 12, 2009 – The Department of Orthopaedics at Stony Brook University Medical Center has established an endowment to advance research and support musculoskeletal education. Drs. Lawrence C. Hurst, Marie A. Badalamente, and Edward D. Wang, recently contributed to this endowment fund with a $10,000 gift that stems from a national award that the group received from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) earlier in the year.

    “Establishing the endowment and using part of the funds from our award is the right thing to do for the department, residents and patients,” says Dr. Hurst, Chair of Orthopaedics. “We should all give back, and this is one way to sustain our success as a

    Drs. Hurst, Badalamente and Wang were the recipients of the AAOS Clinical Research Award, a prestigious national award given annually. They received the award for their innovative research over the past decade on the use of collagenase in the treatment of two fibroproliferative disorders – Dupuytren’s disease, a debillitating hand disorder, and frozen shoulder.

    The Clinical Research Award included a cash prize of $20,000, half of which the SBUMC research team will give back to the department.
    The Department of Orthopaedics at Stony Brook University Medical Center provides full-service patient care and sub-specialty resident and faculty training in all areas of Orthopaedics. The department includes a comprehensive Orthopaedic Research Program featuring clinical and laboratory facilities and resources for investigation of molecular, biologic, and biomechanical research topics.

    A team Stony Brook University Medical Center Orthopaedic faculty researchers contributed part of the funds from a national award they received to an endowment for the department. Pictured, from left: Researchers Edward D. Wang, M.D.; Lawrence C. Hurst, M.D., Chair, Department of Orthopaedics.; Marie A. Badalamente, Ph.D., and Eric Doepel., Senior Associate Vice President for Advancement at SBUMC.